Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view SurfersVillage.com properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.

zo

Villages:

Remaining Nazaré Big Wave Challenge heats hit the water

Nic von Rupp © WSL/Justes

 

 

Nazaré Big Wave Challenge

Event takes a break due to bad wind, then fog but restarts this morning in Portugal

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 February, 2018 - Nazaré - The World Surf League Big Wave Tour Nazaré Challenge will recommence today at 8:30 a.m. WET (12:30 a.m. PST, 6:30 a.m. BRST, 8:30 a.m. GMT, 7:30 p.m. AEDT) at the infamous Praia do Norte big-wave break in Nazaré, Portugal. The morning will begin with the remaining two heats of Round 1, followed by the Semifinals and Final. 

 “We had a bit of fog to deal with this morning but now that it has cleared, we will get underway with the remaining heats of the Nazaré Challenge,” said Mike Parsons, WSL Big Wave Tour Commissioner. “Yesterday, we had to pause the competition because the winds were way too dangerous for the competitors. Now, we are seeing sizeable surf and lighter winds. We will start at 8:30 a.m. local time with forty-five-minute heats for Round One and the Semifinals, and one hour for the Final. Best of luck to all of our competitors out there today.” 

With six competitors through to the Semifinals after running the first two heats of Round 1 yesterday, the remaining 12 surfers will battle for the opportunity to advance in the competition. 

Surfline, Official Forecasters for the 2017/2018 Nazaré Challenge, are calling for: NW swell will decrease through the day today, strongest this morning with wave face size in the 20-30’ range with a few larger sets early.  NW wind is expected through the morning and into the afternoon in the 10-15 knot range.

The Nazaré Challenge will be broadcast LIVE on Facebook Live via the WSL’s Facebook pageand on WorldSurfLeague.com and the WSL app. Also check local listings for coverage on CBS Sports Network in the U.S., Fox Sports in Australia, ESPN in Brazil, Sky NZ in New Zealand, SFR Sports in France and Portugal, and Sport TV in Portugal.

Nazaré Challenge Remaining Round 1 Match-Ups (H2 - 3):
Heat 3: Kai Lenny (HAW), Makuakai Rothman (HAW), Cristian Merello (CHL), Francisco Porcella (ITA), Natxo Gonzalez (EUK), Nic von Rupp (PRT)
Heat 4:  Grant Baker (ZAF), Nic Lamb (USA), Tom Lowe (GBR), Ian Walsh (HAW), Antonio Silva (PRT), Kealii Mamala (HAW)

Viewed: 
Weight: 
1
 
 

Latest photos

Newsletter

Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter